What should I do if the consumer’s financial services are disrupted?

The topic of finance is always relevant. Every year, financial institutions that provide services in the field of lending and insurance are opened all over the country: credit and insurance companies, microloans, pawnshops, and many others. They clearly indicate all the conditions for obtaining consumer and loan loans, insurance payments, deposits and securities. The client clearly knows where to turn in case of providing the necessary financial services, but many do not even have an idea how to solve the problems resulting from their provision. One of these problems is the violation of consumer rights in the provision of financial services. It is often encountered by people who enter into loan agreements.

How can I detect a violation of a consumer’s financial services?

In 2020, the Ukrainian Parliament decided to reformat the Law on Consumer Protection.

From now on, the NBU and the National Commission, which regulates the financial services market, have greater powers to monitor compliance with the basic rules for interaction between financial services entities. Regulators work in three areas:

  • providing assistance in the event of a request from consumers of financial services;
  • monitoring compliance with requirements for banking organizations;
  • protection of consumer rights and control over the activities of banks.

Violations in the interaction between the bank and the borrower can occur at different stages: from the moment of signing the agreement to the stage of full repayment of the loan and payment of all interest.

The main violations include the following cases:

  • incorrectly calculated penalty percentage for long-term loans;
  • additional services included in the agreement that the consumer did not consent to;
  • enabling unilateral conditions that violate consumer rights;
  • bank changes to the terms of the agreement;
  • collecting interest for providing credit services;
  • collection of funds if they are not specified in the contract;
  • the bank’s request for early fulfillment of the conditions specified under the agreement;
  • the bank’s demand for early repayment of the loan body and interest on it, in the event of a change in the borrower’s financial condition;
  • the bank’s change in interest on the loan at the time of the agreement’s validity;
  • transfer of the contract to third-party companies with a further demand from them to repay the loan;
  • failure to fulfill its obligations, both on the part of the bank and on the part of the borrower.

How should a consumer act in the event of a violation of their rights?

Protecting the rights of consumers of banking services consists of a whole range of actions that are aimed at protecting the consumer. Almost always, rights are violated due to financial and legal illiteracy of the consumer. If you add an item that doesn’t comply with the law, the consumer will skip it in most cases. When the borrower clearly declares to the bank that he knows all his rights and, in the event of financial inconsistencies, can defend them, any banking organizations understand that it is better to meet the need of such a client.

Since banks are not interested in the consumer bringing the case to court, most often all issues are resolved immediately on the spot. In almost all cases, the courts take the side of the borrower and satisfy their claim in full, which once again proves that the country has consumer protection. The bank almost always remains in a losing position. In addition, in the course of a court case, the bank may pay a certain percentage of monetary compensation, in case of satisfaction of the claim, or be temporarily deprived of the license to provide financial services. Regarding other laws, the Law: “On Protection of Rights” the percentage of satisfactory claims of consumers is extremely high, so banks try not to bring the case to court and resolve the conflict at the initial level.

In the event of a conflict at the first stage, the consumer must explain their claims or demands to the authorized persons of the bank, and then give the performers a written statement. It is advisable to request feedback from the bank in writing as well. This can be a statement of satisfaction of the requirements or a refusal to comply with them.

Who can help in case of violation of the consumer’s financial services?

In order to organize effective interaction and implementation of the consumer’s right to credit, a special agreement on cooperation was concluded between executive bodies and banks in the field of rights protection, according to which you can apply to the NBU if consumer protection in the banking sector is violated. If the consumer’s rights have been violated, then, of course, the first thing he should do is contact his bank, with which he concluded the contract. The request must be in writing with a clear complaint about certain points of the contract. In order to correctly state your complaint and plant the entire evidence base, in any case, you should contact a law firm, and you can also make an appeal or appeal the decision yourself.

If the bank of which you are a client has not received a clear response to your complaint and the question remains open, you should write an appeal to the NBU. Consumer protection in the banking sector is regulated only by the National Bank, which accepts complaints both in person and electronically. If you can’t appeal in person, please send an email to nbu@bank. gov. ua, or call the hotline number 0 800 505 240. At the time of quarantine, it is better to use remote mode communications.

The email should have the following format: full name, the essence of the stated issue or complaint. It is necessary to provide clear information with the possibility to attach copies of documents so that the NBU, based on it, can make a decision. If the commission decides that the NBU will not be able to become the competent authority to solve this problem, the client will be redirected to another body. The time required to process a complaint is usually up to 30 days.

What should I do if the consumer’s financial services are disrupted?

Which organizations can I report in case of a violation?

If the conflict situation has not been resolved at the initial level, then the consumer of financial services should seek help from third parties in accordance with the established procedure. A large number of problems can be resolved in a pre-trial manner. In this case, the first step is to seek financial advice from legal and financial institutions. These can be:

  • private companies;
  • authorized state bodies;
  • as well as public organizations that are ready to help.

Consumer protection in the banking system can be regulated by financial unions that operate both on a voluntary basis and are regulated by regulatory acts.

After receiving financial advice, you should go to the authorized bodies for resolving conflict situations. With them, the consumer discusses further actions related to filing a statement of claim in court and the correctness of its writing.

How do I write a complaint about a violation of financial services?

The consumer can write and file a complaint on their own, or they can ask for help from special organizations that represent the consumer’s rights in court. In the first case, the consumer collects all the materials on the case himself, as well as passes through all instances without third-party assistance. In the second case, at each stage of the legal process, all actions of the consumer are controlled by the authorized body.

If a decision is made to present the complaint independently, it will be necessary to specify the exact contact details of the applicant, fully state the claim statement and attach all necessary documents showing the interaction of the consumer and the organization providing the relevant banking services. Consumer rights protection is regulated by regulatory legal acts and the Law “On Protection of Rights”. The application is considered within two weeks from the date of its submission. The plaintiff receives a notification about the appointment of the first hearing and the exact date of his visit to the court.

Что делать в случае нарушения финансовых услуг потребителя?

Тема финансов актуальна всегда. Каждый год по всей стране открываются финансовые организации, предоставляющие услуги в сфере кредитования и страхования: кредитные и страховые компании, микрозаймы, ломбарды и многие другие. В них четко указаны все условия по получению потребительских и заемных кредитов, страховых платежей, вкладов и ценных бумаг. Клиент четко знает, куда ему обратиться в случае оказания необходимых финансовых услуг, но многие даже не имеют представления как решить проблемы, в результате их оказания. Одна из таких проблем — это нарушение прав потребителя при оказании финансовых услуг. С ней часто сталкиваются люди, заключающие кредитные договоры.

Как выявить нарушение финансовых услуг потребителя?

В 2020 году Парламентом Украины было решение переформатировать Закон о защите прав потребителей. С этого момента НБУ и Национальная комиссия, которая регулирует рынок финансовых услуг наделены большими полномочиями, касаемо вопросов за соблюдением основных правил взаимодействия лиц финансовых услуг. Регуляторы работают по трем направлениям:

  • оказание помощи в случае обращения потребителей финансовых услуг;
  • контроль за соблюдение требований к банковским организациям;
  • защите прав потребителей и контролю за деятельностью банков.

Нарушения в моменте взаимодействия между банком и заемщиком могут происходить на разных стадиях: с момента заключения договора до стадии полного погашения кредита и уплаты всех процентов.

К основным нарушениям можно отнести следующие случаи:

  • неправильно рассчитанный процент неустойки по долгосрочному кредитованию;
  • внесенные в договор дополнительные услуги, на которые не давал согласие потребитель;
  • включение односторонний условий, нарушающих права потребителя;
  • изменение банком условий договора;
  • взыскание процента за предоставление услуг по кредитованию;
  • взимание сумм денежных средств, если они не заявлены в договоре;
  • требование банка о досрочном выполнении указанных по договору условий;
  • требование банка о досрочном погашении тела кредита и процентам по нему, в случае изменения финансового состояния заемщика;
  • изменение банком процентов по кредиту в момент действия договора;
  • передача договора сторонним компаниям с дальнейшим требованием от них погашения кредита;
  • не выполнение своим обязанностей, как со стороны банка, так и со стороны заемщика.

Как действовать потребителю в случае нарушения его прав?

Защита прав потребителей банковских услуг заключается в целом спектре действий, которые направлены на защиту потребителя. Практически всегда права нарушаются из-за финансовой и юридической безграмотности потребителя. В случае добавления пункта, который не соответствует закону, потребитель в большинстве случаев его пропустит. Когда же заемщик четко заявляет банку о том, что знает все свои права и, в случае возникновения финансовых не состыковок, может их отстоять, любые банковские организации понимают, что лучше удовлетворить потребность такого клиента.

Поскольку банки не заинтересованы в том, чтобы потребитель доводил дело за судебного разбирательства, чаще всего все вопросы решаются сразу же на месте. Почти во всех случаях, суды становятся на сторону заемщика и удовлетворяют их исковое заявление в полном объеме, чем в очередной раз доказывают, что в стране действует защита прав потребителей. Банк практически всегда остается в проигрышной позиции. Помимо этого, в ходе судебного дела, банк может уплатить определенный процент денежной компенсации, в случае удовлетворения иска или быть на время лишен лицензии оказывать финансовые услуги. Относительно других законов, Закон: «О защите прав» процент удовлетворительных исковых заявлений потребителей крайне велик, поэтому банки стараются не доводить дело до суда и урегулировать конфликт на начальном уровне.

В случае возникновения конфликта на первом этапе потребителю необходимо объяснить уполномоченным лицам банка свои претензии или требования, а после дать исполнителям письменное заявление. Желательно потребовать обратную связь от банка так же в письменном виде. Это может быть заявление об удовлетворении требований или отказ от них.

Кто может помочь в случае нарушения финансовых услуг потребителя?

Чтобы организовать эффективное взаимодействие и реализацию права потребителя по кредиту, в сфере защиты прав между исполнительными органами и банками был заключен специальный договор о взаимодействии, согласно которому можно обратиться в НБУ, если нарушена защита прав потребителей в банковской сфере. Если права потребителя были нарушены, то, конечно же, первым делом ему следует обратиться в свой банк, с которым он заключил договор. Обращение должно быть в письменном виде с четким составлением жалобы по определенным пунктам договора. Чтобы грамотно изложить свою жалобу и подложить всю доказательную базу, в любом случае следует обратиться в юридическую компанию, а также можно составить обращение или обжаловать решение самостоятельно.

Если от банка, клиентом которого вы являетесь, не последовало вразумительного ответа на вашу жалобу и вопрос остался открытым, следует написать обращение в НБУ. Защита прав потребителей в банковской сфере регулируется только Национальным банком, который принимает жалобы, как очно, так и в электронном виде. В случае, если у вас нет возможности обжаловать очно, высылайте электронное письмо на почту nbu@bank. gov. ua, либо же позвонить по номеру горячей линии 0 800 505 240. В момент карантина лучше использовать связи дистанционного режима.

Письмо должно иметь следующий вид: ФИО, суть заявленного вопроса или жалобы. Необходимо указывать четкую информацию с возможностью приложить копии документов, чтобы НБУ, опираясь на нее, смогло принять решение. Если комиссия решит, что НБУ не сможет стать компетентным органом для решения данной проблемы, клиента перенаправят в другой орган. Время для рассмотрения жалобы, как правило, составляет до 30 дней.

Что делать в случае нарушения финансовых услуг потребителя?

На какие организации можно пожаловаться в случае нарушения?

Если конфликтная ситуация не была решена на первоначальном уровне, то потребителю финансовых услуг следует обратиться за помощью к третьим лицам в установленном порядке. Большое количество проблем можно решить в досудебном порядке. В этом случае первым делом необходимо обратиться за финансовой консультацией в юридические и финансовые учреждения. Это могут быть:

  • частные компании;
  • уполномоченные государственные органы;
  • а также общественные организации, готовые оказать свою помощь.

Защита прав потребителей в банковской системе может регулироваться финансовыми союзами, которые функционируют, как на добровольческих началах, так и регулируются нормативными актами.

После получения финансовой консультации, следует направиться к уполномоченным органам по решению конфликтных ситуаций. С ними потребитель обговаривает дальнейшие действия, связанные с подачей искового заявления в суд и правильности его написания.

Как правильно написать жалобу о нарушении финансовых услуг?

Потребитель может написать и подать жалобу самостоятельно, а может обратиться за помощью в специальные организации, которые являются представителями прав потребителя в суде. В первом случае все материалы по делу потребитель собирает сам, так же без сторонней помощи проходит все инстанции. Во втором случае на каждом этапе судебного процесса все действия потребителя контролирует уполномоченный орган.

Если принято решение самостоятельно изложить жалобу, то необходимо будет указать точные контактные данные заявителя, в полном объеме изложить претензионное заявление и приложить все необходимые документы, показывающие взаимодействие потребителя и организации, оказывающей соответствующие банковские услуги. Защита прав потребителей регулируется нормативно правовыми актами и Законом «О защите прав». Заявление рассматривается в течение двух недель с момента его подачи. Истцу приходит уведомление о назначении первого слушания и точной датой его посещения суда.